b_280_0_16777215_00_images_stories_npm.jpgRepresentatives of seven countries in the region (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Croatia, Macedonia, Slovenia and Serbia) met on the two days Meeting 25th and 26 March 2013 in Belgrade in order to organize the Network of National Preventive Mechanisms, whose aim is preventing abuse and eradication of torture.

Declaration on cooperation is established, within the Network of National Preventive Mechanisms (NPM), a member state of the UN Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, in the region. Began the planning of future activities, and the Ivan Ĺ elih, Deputy Ombudsman of the Republic of Slovenia was chosen as the first chairman of NPM Network.